Soya Chunk Curry

Yummmmm. Soya chunks. If you haven’t had them they are a tofu like soy-based meaty-like food. At the time off cooking this recipe, I’ve had soya before in relatives dishes but never have I used it in my own cooking. I’m not really sure why either, I guess I always went with the classic chicken or beef. 🙂

Now the curry to this is very much a hands off process (for the most part). You pretty much get the oil hot and sputter the cumin, and that’s it. From there it’s a bunch of dumping and swishing the mixture around. There is a chance at the end to tailor the curry to your desired thickness;  personally, my husband and I love a thick gravy so I also added a water-cornstarch mixture at the end to thicken. But more on this later.

Now for the recipe. Get in your kitchen and let’s go.

Grab a pot and boil some water. Once you got the water going, dump the soya into it and allow it to boil for 5 minutes. Strain the water, add some cold water to the pan and let them chill for a bit.

DSC_1082_pp

Go into your spice cabinet and grab the following: turmeric, kashmiri powder (chili power), indian coriander (I didn’t have any on hand so I used orange tarragon), ground cumin, garam masala, and some salt.

DSC_1081_pp

In a nice deep skillet, heat up your oil over medium heat and get your cumin cracking. Once you hear the little sputters of cumin, dump your onion. One thing to note: when I make curry gravy, I tend to use large chunks of onion. I like the texture. You can chop as fine as you wish! As the onion browns, puree your tomatoes.

DSC_1083_pp

Now once the onion is brown. Add those blended tomatoes. Mix mix mix until your mixture becomes more of a sludge (not burned).

DSC_1087_pp

DSC_1091_pp

Once your tomato is ready, dump those spices in and mix mix mix for another 5 minutes.Yes, your mixutre will be sludgy again. You can let it sit on low while you get your soya chunks strained and squeezed.

Add in those soya chunks and mix for another 5 minutes.

DSC_1096_pp

Yummmmmy, now get it all creamy by adding the heavy cream and sour cream. Dear god I love sour cream.

This is also the part where you can adjust the gravy thickness. Not only do I add 2-3 cups of water, I also added a tablespoon of water and a tablespoon of cornstarch (I pre-mixed them in a little bowl before adding).

And here is the final result:

DSC_1100_pp

INGREDIENT LIST

  • 1 1/2  cup soya chunks
  • 3 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp cumin, whole
  • 1 cup onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp ginger paste
  • 3 Roma tomatoes, blended until smooth
  • 1/2  tsp turmeric
  • 3/4 tsp kashmiri chilli (or chili powder)
  • 1 tsp orange tarragon (or dried Indian Coriander)
  • 1 tsp cumin, ground
  • Salt, to taste
  • ½ tsp garam masala
  • 1/4 + 2 tbsp heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 c. sour cream
  • 3 c. water